2024 Lok Sabha Elections: BJP Secures Major Wins, Congress and Regional Parties Make Significant Gains

In the 2024 Lok Sabha elections, the BJP achieved sweeping victories in several states, including Delhi, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, and Tripura. Despite this, Congress emerged as the second-largest party with 99 seats, and the Samajwadi Party secured third place with 37 seats. Notable losses for BJP included key figures like Smriti Irani and Ajay Mishra Teni. Meanwhile, Rahul Gandhi won in Kerala’s Wayanad and UP’s Raebareli. The elections showcased significant political shifts, with robust voter turnout reflecting the dynamic and evolving political landscape of India.

The counting of votes for the 542 Lok Sabha seats has been completed. BJP has made a clean sweep in Delhi, Uttarakhand, Himachal Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, and Tripura. Congress won 99 seats and became the second-largest party, while Samajwadi Party (SP) won 37 seats, becoming the third-largest party.

In Uttar Pradesh’s Lakhimpur Kheri seat, Union Minister of State for Home Ajay Mishra Teni lost the election. In 2021, Teni’s son ran over protesting farmers with his car, leading to the death of 8 people.

Moreover, ministers in Modi’s government, Smriti Irani, Mahendra Nath Pandey, and Kaushal Kishore, also lost the election. BJP candidate Lallu Singh also lost in Faizabad (Ayodhya).

Rahul Gandhi won from Wayanad in Kerala and Rae Bareli in UP. Karanbhushan Singh also won from Kaiserganj. He is the son of former MP Brijbhushan Sharan Singh, who was accused of sexual harassment by wrestlers and thus did not get a ticket.

Union Minister Anurag Thakur won from Hamirpur in Himachal Pradesh and GM Karjol won from Chitradurga. BJP had already won Surat uncontested. In Rajasthan, BJP’s Manju Sharma won the Jaipur seat.

In Madhya Pradesh, BJP candidate Shankar Lalwani won from Indore by 11,75,092 votes and Shivraj Singh Chouhan won from Vidisha by 8,20,868 votes.

In Punjab, former CM Charanjit Singh Channi won from Jalandhar, and Amar Singh won from Fatehgarh Sahib. Congress’s Gurjeet Aujla won from Amritsar.

Pro-Khalistan independent candidate Amritpal won from Khadur Sahib. Congress’s Dharamvir Gandhi won from Patiala, defeating BJP candidate Preneet Kaur and AAP minister Dr. Balbir Singh.

In Maharashtra, Uddhav Thackeray’s faction won with Anil Desai winning from South-Central Mumbai, defeating Shiv Sena’s Rahul Shewale.

LOk Sabha Elections 2024 Results
LOk Sabha Elections 2024 Results

Congress’s Saleng A. Sangma won from Tura in Meghalaya. In Karnataka, HD Kumaraswamy of JD(S) won from Mandya by 2.84 lakh votes, defeating Congress’s Venkataraman Gowda.

State-wise Seat Distribution

StateTotal SeatsBJP+Congress+Others
Uttar Pradesh8036431
Andhra Pradesh252104 (YSRCP)
Telangana17881 (AIMIM)
West Bengal4212129 (TMC)
Tamil Nadu39039
Madhya Pradesh292900
Rajasthan2514101 CPI-M
Kerala201181 CPI-M
Punjab13073 AAP, 2 + 1 (SAD)
Jammu & Kashmir522 (NC)1 (Independent)
Himachal Pradesh4400
Arunachal Pradesh2200
Sikkim1001 (SKM)
Andaman & Nicobar1100
DNH & Daman Diu2101
2024 Lok Sabha Election Results by State and Party

In Uttar Pradesh, BJP contested 74 seats and won 33. RLD won 2, and Apna Dal won 1. I.N.D.I.A. Block’s SP won 37, and Congress won 6.

In Maharashtra, BJP won 9 seats, NCP 1, Shiv Sena (Shinde faction) 7, Congress 13, Shiv Sena (UBT) 9, NCP (Sharad Pawar) 8, and one independent.

In Andhra Pradesh, BJP won 3, TDP 16, Jana Sena 2, and YSRCP 4 seats.

In Telangana, BJP won 8, Congress 8, and AIMIM 1 (Hyderabad).

In West Bengal, TMC won 29, BJP 12, and Congress 1 seat.

In Bihar, BJP won 12, JDU 12, Lok Janshakti Party 5, Hindustani Awam Morcha 1, Congress 3, RJD 4, CPI(M)(L) 2, and Pappu Yadav (Independent) won Purnia.

In Tamil Nadu, DMK won 22, Congress 9, MDMK 1, CPI, CPI (M), VCK 2 each, IUML 1, MDMK 1. BJP’s K. Annamalai lost in Chennai Central.

In Madhya Pradesh, BJP won all 29 seats. Congress lost its only seat, Chhindwara.

In Karnataka, BJP won 17, JD(S) 2, and Congress 9 seats.

In Gujarat, BJP won 25 out of 26 seats. Congress won 1.

In Rajasthan, BJP won 14, Congress 8, and RLP, BAP, CPI(M) 1 each.

In Odisha, BJP won 20, Congress 1.

In Kerala, Congress won 14, IUML 2, Kerala Congress, RSP 1 each, BJP 1, CPI(M) 1.

In Assam, BJP won 9, UPPL, AGP 1 each, Congress 3.

In Jharkhand, BJP won 8, AJSU 1, Congress 2, JMM 3.

In Punjab, Congress won 7, AAP 3, SAD 1, independents 2.

In Chhattisgarh, BJP won 10, Congress 1.

In Haryana, BJP and Congress both won 5 seats each.

In Delhi, BJP won all 7 seats.

In Jammu & Kashmir, BJP won 2, NC 2, independent 1.

In Uttarakhand, BJP won all 5 seats.

In Himachal Pradesh, BJP won all 4 seats.

In the Northeast, BJP won 2 in Tripura, 2 in Arunachal Pradesh, 9 in Assam, Congress won 1 in Meghalaya, and others won 1.

In union territories, Congress won in Chandigarh, BJP and others won 1 each in Dadra Nagar Haveli and Daman Diu. An independent won in Ladakh. Congress won both Lakshadweep and Puducherry seats.

Summary of Key Results

  • BJP made significant wins in several states and retained power in many.
  • Congress emerged as the second-largest party with notable wins in Punjab, Kerala, and Bihar.
  • Regional parties like TMC in West Bengal and DMK in Tamil Nadu performed strongly.
  • The overall voter turnout was impressive, indicating robust participation from the electorate.

This election cycle has demonstrated a dynamic shift in political alliances and voter preferences across India.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Top 10 BJP Candidates Who Lost in the 2024 Lok Sabha Elections